自己紹介 – Self-Introduction

As part of our study abroad pre-depart requirements, we must write a self-introduction for our host family and/or Japanese teachers. I thought that it might be neat to share my self-introduction here. I’ll post it in the original Japanese that I wrote it in and then include a English translation below that. I know it’s not perfect but I hope that my feelings and thoughts can at least be communicated ❤

~~~~~~~

はじめまして。私はキラと申します。私は大学三年生で、19歳です。オレゴンのセーラムで大学に通っています。しかし、ハワイで生まれて、育ちました。ハワイで8人の家族と一緒に住んでいます。3人の妹がいますから、家はいつも忙しいです。大学でルームメイトと一緒に住んでいました。過去2学期、日本から留学生と住んでいました。

私は小さい時から、日本に興味を持つようになりました。私は日経であるものの、日本語を喋ることができません。しかし、日本語を喋りたかったので、中学生の時に日本語の自習をし始めました。私は8年間ぐらい日本語を勉強しました。それにしても、まだ上手になりません。私は日本語を話す自信がありません。その理由で日本にいる限り、一生懸命頑張りたいと思います。

私の趣味はバレーボールをすることと、音楽を聞くことと、ボンランティアをすることです。私は留学する時に新しい経験を持ちながら、新しい友達を作りたいと思います。日本に留学するのは私の夢です。本当にいい思い出を作りたい。JSPの生活を楽しみにしています。どうぞよろしくお願いします。

~~~~~~~

Hello. My name is Kira. I am a junior in college and 19 years old. I go to school in Salem, Oregon. However, I was born and raised in Hawaii. I live together with my 8 person family. I have 3 younger sisters so my house is always busy. At school I live together with a roommate. These past two semesters, I lived with a study abroad student from Japan.

From the time when I was a child, I had an interest in Japan. Although I am Japanese-American, I cannot speak Japanese. However, I wanted to speak Japanese so when I was a middle school student I began to self-study Japanese. I have been studying Japanese for about 8 years. But even with that, I am still not great. I have no confidence in speaking Japanese. For this reason, during the time when I am in Japan, I want to try my best.

My hobby is playing volleyball, listening to music, and volunteering. During study abroad I want to get new experiences while making new friends. Studying abroad in Japan is my dream. I really want to make good memories. I look forward to study abroad life. Thank you very much.

~~~~~~~

Leave a Reply

