Where I’ll Be Living in Japan

In this post I would like to share about the place where I will be living for about 5 months when I study abroad in Japan. My first host family lives in Fujimino city in Saitama Prefecture.

Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 10.05.46 AM.png

I don’t know much about this area, so anything I find in this post is something I found off of the internet, but I still think it’s worth researching!

Based off this first google map search, it looks like there are many things to see and do nearby. I spot a Book-off, a few parks, a Mos Burger, supermarket, and a post office.

Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 10.06.57 AM.png

According to Wikipedia:

Fujimino (ふじみ野市Fujimino-shi?) is a city located in Saitama Prefecture, in the central Kantō region of Japan. As of 1 February 2016, the city had an estimated population of 111,218 and a population density of 7600 persons per km². Its total area was 14.64 square kilometres (5.65 sq mi).

Famous attractions in Fujimino include:

  • The Jizoin temple which is famous for a over 300 -year-old weeping cherry tree
  • The Benten-no-Mori Park which contains a small temple which well-known for its cherry blossoms during the spring and the kudzu during the fall
  • The Shingashi River which was used during the Edo period to transport goods. Next to it is a warehouse from the 1870s which is now the Fukuokagashi Riverside Heritage Hall
  • The Green Park on the bank of the Shingashi river which is famous for being a place where Tokugawa Ieyasu would go falconing

Festivals in Fujimino:

There are two major festivals held in Fujimino. There is the Kamifukuoka Tanabata Festival which is held the first Saturday and Sunday of August every year which includes a bamboo decorating contest, Awa Odori dancing, Bon Odori dancing, and traditional taiko drumming. The second festival is the Oi Festival which is held in the middle of July every year and features the carrying of the portable Mikoshi shrines in a parade of floats. This parade is accompanied by Yosakoi dancing by dancers with naruko clappers in the hands.

Screen Shot 2016-07-28 at 10.20.26 AM.png

The city of Fujimino has its own website as well which is mostly curated towards its residents, but is nonetheless nice to know about. It can even be viewed partially in English. 👉Fujimino City Website👈

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 11.31.00 PM.png

Lastly, to end this post, I looked up the distance from my host family’s house to the University that I will be attending and it seems to be about a 35 minute commute. When I first got the result I was worried thinking that this is a really far distance, but then I realized that it could probably be a lot worse and I should be grateful it is not an hour or more. This is the longest commute from home to school that I have ever had so far and also the most independent one. I hope that the route is simple enough to memorize and navigate since i’ll have to be doing it every single day alone and I am terrible at navigating. Regardless of all of those concerns I am excited that I will finally get to have my first experience of real every day life in Japan.

~~~~~

Well, I hope that reading this gave you a little more insight into where i’ll be calling home for a while once I leave for Japan. Thank you for reading!

❤ Kira

2 thoughts on “Where I’ll Be Living in Japan

  1. MA by So Shi Te says:

    Are you going to attend TIU??? I attended that University for a year until I moved to the UK! There is a historic city called Kawagoe nearby and there are many old buildings. I used to go there regularly for shopping. That area is not that far from Tokyo, so I hope you enjoy living in Japan!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kira says:

      yes! I’ll be attending TIU. what a coincidence that you went there too! I’m looking forward to exploring kawagoe so much. can’t wait to see the old buildings!! I’m also glad it’s not far from Tokyo ^^ thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

