My Study Abroad Packing List

Hello!

In this post I wanted to share my packing list for Japan in hopes that it can help someone else who might be preparing to study abroad. Every person is different, but hopefully this can still be a little helpful.

I am planning on bringing one large suitcase and one small suitcase, along with my backpack to carry onto the plane. With Japan Airlines I am allowed three luggage, but I think that is too much to bring with me so I am shooting for just those three bags. So without further ado, my packing list!

In My Suitcases: 

“Wearables”

  • T-shirts (for exercise, pajamas etc.) [5]
  • Sweatshirts [4]
  • Rain jacket/Windbreaker [2]
  • Heavier jacket*** [1]
  • Cardigans [3]
  • Jean shorts [3]
  • Leggings [2]
  • Sweatpants [2]
  • Dresspants [1]
  • Basketball shorts [1]
  • Heattech layering long sleeve shirt [2]
  • Compression shorts (for wearing under dresses) [2]
  • Dresses (for more formal events such as the opening ceremony) [1}
  • Regular bras and sports bras
  • Socks and underwear (about two weeks worth)
  • Sandals [1]
  • Slippers [1]
  • Shoes (indoor sneakers, outdoor sneaker) [3]

***I personally don’t own a heavy jacket so I need to purchase one in Japan, but if you already own one I would recommend bringing one.

Toiletries

  • Face wash [1] (unless you are bringing your preferred brand, then pack accordingly)
  • Toothpaste [3] (I don’t plan on using Japanese toothpaste if I can help it!)
  • Toothbrushes [2]
  • Hairbrush [1]
  • Deodorant [4]
  • Shower loofah [1]
  • (EOS) Lip balm [3]
  • Bath towel [1]
  • Ibuprofen [100 capsules]
  • Motion Sickness Medicine [24 tablets]

Miscellaneous

  • Omiyage for my friends, family, and host family
  • Pencil case with some pencils and pens
  • Duos (my favorite candy) [5]
  • Camera charger
  • Portable harddrive
  • Laptop charger
  • Mophie (battery pack) charger

In My Carry-On:

  • Passport
  • Wallet
  • Travel and study abroad documents
  • Shopping tote (in case I need to carry anything)
  • Laptop
  • Camera
  • Mophie
  • iPhone charger
  • Polaroid
  • Small pouch with a couple of ibuprofen, motion sickness medicine, bandaids, hand sanitizer, extra rubber band, lotion, mints, and body wipes.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Like I mentioned before, everyone is different but I hope that this helps give you an idea of what kind of things you might bring, or help to remind you of something that you forgot. I have been taking a lot of things out of my suitcase that I originally wanted to bring. Some of these things includes not bringing my outlet because I don’t want to be consuming that much energy from my host family’s house, plus it is heavy; I took out a couple of sweatshirts because they are bulky and I will probably want to buy more in Japan anyways; and I took out one of each type of toiletry that I was stocking up on like toothpaste.

For a person like me who always likes to overpack in case of “emergency,” I feel like I don’t have enough things and that I am packing too light. But I know that I will probably thank myself later when I get to Japan and start buying new clothes.

I also have a list of items that I need to purchase upon arrival in Japan so I will share that now too.

Purchase Upon Arrival:

  • Folding umbrella (needed for our international camp in September)
  • Daily planner (so I can keep my life together)
  • Notebooks and paper for classes
  • Body wash, conditioner, and shampoo in case my host family prefers I purchase my own, or if I want to purchase my own.
  • Postage stamps

~~~~~~~~~~~

Well, that’s it! Hopefully I can stick to my list and not throw a whole bunch of things into my suitcase right before I leave. There’s still 23 days and lots of time to pack and unpack so we will see how it goes.

Thank you for reading!

❤ Kira

 

2 thoughts on “My Study Abroad Packing List

Leave a Reply

