Update + About Tokyo International University

With 19 days to go before I leave for studying abroad, I’ve been thinking not just about what I want to buy as soon as I get Japan or what I should pack but also been increasingly thinking about what I should last minute study before I leave and what kinds of things I will probably miss about home and the U.S. I’m trying to do a little bit of studying everyday. Recently I have started trying to read a junior novel called 「あらいぐまラスカル」or Rascal Raccoon. Each page seems to take close to an hour to read because I need to look up the kanji and then attempt to translate the sentence. My goal is to read a couple of pages, review and learn all the new vocabulary by testing myself with Anki flashcards, and then move on to a few new pages. My goal is to finish the first chapter before I leave to go to Japan; that’s about 28 pages to read. Can do! Well, now with the 19 days to go until I leave for Japan update completed, I’ll move on to the main point of this post which is to briefly introduce the university that I will be studying abroad at.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Japan Studies Program (JSP) at Tokyo International University (TIU)

The university that I will be studying abroad at in Japan is called Tokyo International University. (Click here to visit the website!). It is located in Saitama less than an hour’s train ride away from Tokyo. TIU actually has 3 campuses. There is Campus 1, Campus 2, and the Sakado Campus.

Screen Shot 2016-08-06 at 10.52.19 PM.png

The campus pictured is Campus 1, which is where I will be attending as a exchange student. The University website states:

Campus 1 is conveniently located approximately five minutes’ walk from the south exit of Kasumigaseki Station on the Tobu Tojo Line, about 37 minutes’ by express train from Ikebukuro Station. The flags of a number of countries of foreign students studying on campus flutter at the front entrance, symbolizing the international academic atmosphere of the university.

Screen Shot 2016-08-06 at 11.00.58 PM.png

The study abroad program that I will be attending is called the Japan Studies Program or JSP for short. TIU has actually just revamped their JSP website and created a whole new, more user friendly, and attractive webpage, complete with a new video giving a glimpse into the daily lives of JSP participants. I recommend you check out the site (by clicking here!).

All study abroad programs are different, but this is what the JSP at TIU is about:

Tokyo International University launched the Japan Studies Program in 1985 as a way to introduce the rich and complex culture of Japan to students from around the world. The program is based in Kawagoe, an attractive city with strong historical roots located just on the outskirts of central Tokyo.

Offering the best of both old and new Tokyo, the JSP is designed as an opening into the authentic Japanese way of life through homestays that allow students to learn through actual experiences. The intensive Japanese courses with small class sizes ensure swift development of language skills no matter your prior ability or knowledge. There is also a wide range of elective courses, ensuring you receive a fully rounded understand of Japan.

After completing the Japan Studies Program, you will leave with a higher level of Japanese language and also valuable first-hand insights provided by your daily immersion in the social life and culture. Because experience is the best teacher of all.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I know I didn’t cover much about the school or the program, but I just wanted to offer a small glimpse into the place where I will be spending the next year of my life.

After exploring the new Japan Studies Program webpage, there seems to be a lot more information than there was on the old one so I am really happy about that. It’s easy to navigate and it’s also fun to see people I know who are providing the testimonials and participating in the video. All in all, reading about JSP is making me even more excited to go to Japan. I feel a little bit more motivated to study again so back to the Anki flashcards I go.

If you have any questions about the study abroad program I am attending, the application process (such as statement of purpose for studying abroad), scholarship applications, Certificate of Eligibility, VISA, or anything else, please don’t hesitate to comment below to send a message.!

Thank you for reading!

❤ Kira

 

 

Leave a Reply

