Saved By Japanese Costco! (日記#9)

Hello everyone!

On September 25th, my host family took me to Iruma to go and experience a Japanese Costco! The week before that I started to have intense cravings for American pizza and was really frustrated to find out that Japanese Dominoes apparently tastes completely different than America, on top of costing a lot more to deliver.

IMG_6791.JPG

However, I was saved by Costco because the pizza and the hot dogs were the exact same as the American one. (Yes, I ate both pizza and a hot dog). The only thing that could have made it better would be if they also had my favorite berry smoothie but unfortunately it was a mango one.

IMG_6793.JPG

I don’t want to exaggerate but I was seriously close to tears when I was eating that pizza. It really just tasted like home and was exactly the taste that I was craving. I am so lucky that my host family took me there, otherwise I might have gone crazy with want for American pizza.

IMG_6794.JPG

Besides the pizza that was great, Japanese Costco also has other perks. One of them being large packs of Japanese snacks. Well, large by Japanese standards anyways.

IMG_6802.JPG

You can’t really tell by the picture but the box isn’t actually that big. Probably about half the size of a regular microwave. I don’t know why that is the measurement for comparison that I chose but hopefully you can picture it.

IMG_6807.JPG

Another thing that I am pretty sure is something you might not find in Costco’s in America, but they might have and I just never noticed, was platters of sushi. There was probably like 4 times the sections shown in the picture and they were all stacked high with sushi. I was really confused because the whole section was full of sushi but they were still making more. Would they actually sell that much in one day??? Who knows. My host family bought one of the smaller packs to eat for dinner that night. It was pretty good except there was wasabi in it so the taste was kind of overpowered.

Overall, this trip to Costco was a good one. There was also a large outlet next to the Costco where I spent way more money than I should have at the Nike store. In my defense, I have worn the jacket that I bought almost every single day since then so I think it was a good purchase. Although a cheaper one could have done the job just as well.

I just wish that the Costco wasn’t so far away. I guess it’s a good thing though because if it was close then I would probably be going to eat pizza and hot dogs there once every couple of weeks.

I think visiting a Japanese Costco when you’re in Japan is worth it if there’s one nearby. They have free samples too! I had a free sample of shrimp and there were also samples of tofu and some kind of Korean soup.

If you read this, thank you! As a bonus, here’s a picture of something I thought was pretty funny. When I saw this I thought “ah this is how Hawaii people communicate with each other in Japan” lol.

IMG_6804.JPG

Thanks again!

❤ Kira

Leave a Reply

