Another Quick Update on My Life

Hello everyone!

I haven’t posted anything recently so I thought I should at least try to push out an update. The first semester of my study abroad program ends next week. I am happy that it is not the end for me yet but at the same time I am sad to have to say goodbye to the friends that I have made this semester.

Before I came to Japan I probably criticized the people who went to study abroad and only hung out with people from their own country/English-speaker at least once or twice. However, that is basically what I did when I came to Japan. I would blame most of it on the fact that all of our classes are with study abroad students and there are few chances to meet Japanese students in a natural way. (As opposed to actively “hunting” them down). Besides that, since we spend almost every day with the same people in our program-only classes, it would make sense that you would become friends with whoever you are always around. It may be true that I didn’t feel the need to find any new friends because I already had some, but at the same time my attempts to meet Japanese students didn’t go well so after a while I just stopped trying.

So back to the subject of my semester ending, I actually did a lot and experienced so much this semester. I also feel the regrets of what I didn’t do and now I have motivation to fix that for my final semester. My time in Japan is just a little over 1/3 way complete. I have a long winter break between December 19-April 1st and I will spend the time at a language school in Tokyo.

I don’t want to outline everything that I did in this post because I want to try to force myself to write longer posts to reflect about it. Hopefully after my finals are over and all my friends leave I will be able to stay at home and write these posts instead of thinking about how I may never see all my friends again. I am being a little over-dramatic here but that is currently my biggest worry at this point in time.

I guess I am rusty with writing and I can’t really feel the flow of this post so I am just going to end it here. If you read this update, thank you! I assure you I am still alive and well but doing so well that I have no motivation to stop whatever I am doing to write a blog post.

Hope everyone else is doing well!

Take care,

❤ Kira

Leave a Reply

