Finally! Visiting the Studio Ghibli Museum(日記#17)

One of the biggest things on my life to-do list as been to go to the Studio Ghibli Museum located in Mitaka. I love Studio Ghibli movies and made it a point to watch all of them so it was only natural that I would also hope to visit the Museum designed by Hayao Miyazaki himself during my lifetime. That day finally came on October 23rd when my host family took me there.

IMG_8300.JPG

The day started off early as we took the train to get there before opening so that we could be towards the front of the line. It was so exciting to be able to see the building that I had seen so many pictures of online in real life!

IMG_8312.JPG

Part of the attraction of this museum is that you can’t take any pictures inside I think because you are supposed to focus on being in the moment, but you can take pictures at one place which is on the roof. On the rooftop garden there is a statue of the robot from Castle in the Sky which I had always dreamed of seeing and taking a picture with, which I made sure to do 🙂

IMG_8318.JPG

From the roof you could also see down to the entrance of the museum where you could see the long line of people waiting to get in. We came early enough and beat a bus full of tourists so we were able to get in within the first five groups/families.

IMG_8331.JPG

After we watched a screening of one of Studio Ghibli’s original short films only shown at the Museum, walked around the exhibits and replicas of his work space, the interactive areas where you could sit in the cat bus from Totoro, and through the gift shop, we decided to go and grab lunch.

IMG_8337.JPG

They had a stand selling hot dogs and some other fast-food next to the sit down cafe. It would have been nice to be able to eat at the cafe but the wait was really long. This food stand was still nice too though!

IMG_8347.JPG

I just got a regular hotdog and shamelessly scooped out the relish. The others got regular hot dogs and soft serve ice cream.

IMG_8358.JPG

After lunch was over my host dad had to leave early to go to work, but the rest of us continued to walk around the museum a bit before heading back home. I know I didn’t really explain much about what happens in the museum but I think that you should just try and go to experience it yourself. If you really can’t, there are probably many other articles online that would give a better description of it then I ever could.

IMG_8386.JPG

Going to the Studio Ghibli museum was something I always knew I would do if I lived in Japan and I am so grateful that my host family took me there. It lived up to my expectations and was even more fun I think because we went with the kids. Even though spending a whole day together with them especially when taking long walks or the train makes me go crazy, I still really do love this family!

IMG_8343.JPG

I still have many more adventures to share about and I haven’t even caught up past October yet. I’ll work on getting the rest of the articles out soon!

If you’ve been reading, thank you so much!

❤ Kira

Leave a Reply

