My Thanksgiving in Japan(日記#25)

Hello again!

Today I am going to talk about how I spent my Thanksgiving with friends in Japan, which means that I’ve finally made it to the end of November in my blog posts. Getting close and closer to catching up to the present 😀 Yes! But on November 23, 2016, I went to my friend Daryn’s host family’s house with other friends for a real Thanksgiving dinner. The year before I had spent Thanksgiving while at school doing nothing really special so it was really nice to have a real Thanksgiving dinner spent with friends eating until we couldn’t eat anymore. While some things had to be switched out because it couldn’t be found easily, like chicken for turkey and no gravy, it was still a great meal with great company.

IMG_0252.JPG

Together with Daryn’s host family and all of our JSP group of friends, we had the staple Thanksgiving foods like chicken, stuffing, and mashed potatoes and it was great. I can’t really write about much because we basically just ate and talked story for a while.

It is definitely one of my favorite memories I have of my JSP Fall semester and it’s funny because it’s of celebrating an American holiday with all of my American friends. That’s why although before I used to kind of think people who studied abroad and only hung out with people from their own countries were wasting their experience, I came to realize that part of this program was to be able to meet people from different places and make new friends. Together with these friends we learned about Japan and explored different places together, while also being able to remind me of home enough that I didn’t get too homesick.

Now they have all been back in America for over a month and I miss them, but I have confidence that sometime, somewhere in the future we will be able to have a reunion ❤

Thank you for reading! Next time will be writing about the first time I saw snow fall.

Take care 🙂

Kira

 

Leave a Reply

