Update on New Host Family

Hello everyone!

It’s now nearing the end of February and the beginning of March. I started living alone at the very beginning of January and I’ve somehow been surviving. I’ve got about a month left on my own before I head away from the city, back to Saitama which isn’t exactly the country but it’s definitely not the city. I’ve received my new host family placement, which I’ll share a bit about now! 🙂

Last semester I lived with a family of four. Young parents with their 5 year old daughter and 7 year old son. I really love them and considered asking to stay with them again this semester, but I made the difficult decision of requesting a new host family. The reason I did that was because my host siblings spoke English pretty fluently so I never used Japanese. I also don’t like speaking Japanese so when I saw that opportunity I took it and used that as a crutch to not practice Japanese at all. That’s why for this second semester I decided to go the exact opposite of what I originally wanted, which was kids and a large family. They will still always be like family so I can probably go to visit anyways. I am not sure if they are hosting a new student this semester but I will ask eventually so I’m not surprised at the opening ceremony.

My new host family will just be my host mom and me, with her pet dog, and pet rooster. The pet rooster really threw me off when I read it in the profile and honestly I was not happy with it at all. I could never have specified “no birds” in my profile because it wasn’t something I could ever predict. However, after getting over the originally shock then I decided that I don’t think I can change and I shouldn’t try to change without having given her a chance so I’ll go into this new host family with an open mind and pray that we can still eat chicken.

Since I am in Japan I will probably meet her before the program officially starts which should take the nervous edge off of meeting a new host family at the opening ceremony. I am nervous because it’s just going to be me and her with no children as a bumper in between to make things less awkward.

She used to be a high school teacher but now she teaches once a week at a vocational school and also teaching Japanese to foreigners as a volunteer. I have a feeling that that was the reason that I was placed in this house since I have interest in becoming a teacher.

She’s going to be my family for four months starting in April and hopefully we get along and can become like real family. It’s going to be final third of my study abroad time in Japan and I really want to make the most of it. The host family portion is a huge chunk of that so I hope it goes well. I plan to send an email after this to arrange a meeting with her so wish me luck!

Next post will be about the JSP closing ceremony for Fall 2016.

Thanks for reading!

❤ Kira

Leave a Reply

