Enoshima Christmas (日記#30)

Hello everyone!

Today I’m back to share my day trip I took with my friend on December 24, 2016. This trip was to Enoshima, on the Shonan Coast of Kanagawa Prefecture. At this time I was still living with my host family in Saitama so the whole trip probably took over 2 hours, with the return being even longer. However, it was a super fun excursion and something special to do the day before Christmas, which is a notorious couples holiday in Japan.

When we finally arrived at Enoshima via the Enoden train, we were greeted by beautiful blue skies and great weather. It was already lunch time when we got there so our first stop was to find a place to eat  lunch. I didn’t know beforehand, but they really try to create like a “Hawaii” vibe in Enoshima. There were many different “Hawaiian” themed restaurants and little souvenir shops with all sorts of Hawaii-related goods.

The place where we ended up eating lunch was called Aloha Table Waikiki. My friend also loves Hawaii so it was a win-win for both of us. I got something that reminded me of home and she got to reminisce about her Hawaii trip. She ended up ordering an acai bowl and I got karaage. We also got a bucket of garlic shrimp to share. The shrimp was actually a bad choice. Nothing like the garlic shrimp of home, they were tiny and fried to a crisp. We actually had to ask the waitress but yes–you’re supposed to just eat the whole thing as is, head and all. I didn’t want to waste it so I took the head off and choked down the pokey shrimp. I miss the garlic shrimp from the North Shore or basically just “real” Hawaii food.

After we satisfied our hanger we headed to the main attraction, the beach. For some reason both of us didn’t think about that fact that we would be going to the beach and both wore shoes/boots. Of course the beach doesn’t compare to the one back home, but it was still really beautiful. It was actually pretty warm for December and so we just sat on the stairs near the sand and enjoyed the view for a while.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After we had our fill of the ocean view we went to the nearby Enoshima Aquarium. This was one of the aquariums I had researched about while doing a Japanese class project last semester so I was extremely stoked to be able to go there. I really love the ocean and sea and therefore I also like aquariums, but I also sometimes feel like it’s bad because some of these animals probably shouldn’t be in captivity. I feel a moral conflict between whether or not an aquarium can realistically provide an environment that is suitable for the needs of the animal or not. I also don’t know how I feel about teaching animals how to perform on command, or rather forcing or bribing them to learn and perform multiple times a day. It’s definitely something that requires me to do more research about.

IMG_1545.JPG

Once we were done at the aquarium we went to dinner at Red Lobster, where I proceeded to order way too much food just because I could. I didn’t even order a meal I ordered a bunch of things off of the side menu. As you can see, they are mostly all carbs. It was perfect for me. Unfortunately for my friend, she got sick. She failed to let me know ahead of time that she has a weak stomach and eating seafood makes her sick. So after she ate she got a really bad stomachache. This led to us cutting our trip a little big short to head home.

Overall, it was a really great trip for me. I can’t speak for my friend in case that seafood thing ruined the whole day for her, but I think that minus that the rest of the day was perfect. Since it was winter it wasn’t too crowded in Enoshima, which tends to become crazy during the summer seasons but we lucked out with some unusually warm weather.

If you read this, thank you! The next post will be about my first Japanese-style Christmas complete with KFC and cake 🙂

❤ Kira

Leave a Reply

