My First New Years In Japan(日記#33)

Hello again! Hope you are doing well. I can’t believe that the third month of 2017 is already coming to an end. 2017 is passing by quicker than I expected it would. At this rate I will blink and find myself back in America without even realizing it. In order to not freak out I’ll go back in the past to New Year’s so I can pretend my time in Japan isn’t running out and write about how I spent my first new years away from home.

Part of the reason that I wanted to stay in Japan for a full school year was so that I could experience all 4 season and all of the many holidays and celebrations that come along with it. The major one in Japan being new years. A time of literally throwing out the old and bringing in the new for the most part, new years in Japan is something I have always wanted to experience and now I finally did.

I spent the new years with my relatives in Tochigi and even though it was quiet and fairly uneventful, I still got to check many things off of my “Japanese New Year Checklist” including eating toshikoshi soba meant to symbolize long life, watch all of the new years specials on TV, and do hatsumode the first shrine visit of the year.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Of course I missed by family and it was hard to be away for both Christmas and New Years for the first time ever, but I think it was appropriate that I started the second decade of my life with new experiences. If anything being away just made my appreciate and love for my family and friends back home grow even more. As cliche as it is, distance does make the heart grow fonder I think.

Since it was a really low0key and quiet passing from 2016 to 2017 I don’t really have much else to say except that I am really grateful that my relatives welcoming me into their home and letting me join in greeting the near year.

If you read this, thank you very much! In my next post I am going to talk about the share house in Tokyo that has been my home for that past 3 months.

Take care!

❤ Kira

Leave a Reply

