Life Update!!! 2 months left in Japan :-(

Hello everyone!

It has been over 2 months since I published my last post about my share house experience in Japan. Since then I moved back to Kawagoe and began attending Tokyo International University again for my second and final semester of the Japan Studies Program (JSP). I can’t believe that it’s been two months since I last posted. I am somewhat disappointed in myself for not keeping up the posts when I had gotten so close to catching up to real time, but it’s been a pretty busy past two months and when I had time I didn’t have energy or the motivation to want to write a blog post. However, in the past couple of weeks I have written and given a speech, spoken with my professors/advisors from Willamette who were visiting Japan, and also written a couple letters to my future self that all forced me to stop for a second and reflect. Now I think I’m finally back in the blog post writing mood so I am going to see how many I can crank out today before I lose it again! (It could also be because I am procrastinating on studying for my oral midterm exam that is tomorrow).

Anyways, this post is just gonna be a short one to update everyone on where I am at now without going into too much detail since I hope to write a detailed post later. I just want to say that I am alive and doing well. Busy with school since I am taking about 6 classes, still in the English Speaking club, and been doing a couple of extra things here and there like the speech that I mentioned as well as visiting the middle school where my host mom works. Besides that I have been trying to find another time to volunteer before I leave Japan but looking at my schedule just makes me panic realizing how my time is running out.

At this point I want to meet up with people I know that I may not ever see again after leaving Japan but it is difficult when I want to give 100% at school and they are all busy with their part time jobs. I also have the Japanese Language Proficiency Test coming up on July 2nd. This is my first time taking the real exam and I am trying for the N2 Level (second to highest). I took a practice exam yesterday for that level and I am not feeling too confident. Very grateful that TIU offers the mock test because it was really a wake up call.

Recently I’ve also been thinking about my future plans and what I want to do, then I realize that I still don’t really have a clue of what I want to do and then I just go crazy. I already know that in my immediate future I want to apply to the JET Program to teach English at a school in Japan. If my dreams are crushed and I don’t get accepted then I plan to find alternate ways to be able to work in Japan in the immediate future. During that time I hope to either find a career that I can see myself doing for a while or even consider returning back to school to get a Masters degree so I can become a teacher. Whether that graduate school would be in Japan or in the U.S, I definitely haven’t thought that far into the future yet. Honestly I always thought that I would live in Japan for 3-5 years after graduating from Willamette and then return back to Hawaii to find a job and live there for the rest of my life. Buuuuut now that I think about how long I’ll be living in Japan for and how I plan to study to get N1 certification it almost seems like a waste if I learn so much Japanese just to return back to Hawaii and then lose it all. At this point in time it doesn’t seem like a great investment so now I am back to the drawing board to see how I can possibly turn my interests into a career without having to waste efforts I’ve made thus far or giving up too many of the things I want to do.

For the time being I want to nurture the meaningful relationships that I have now while I can. I can already predict that I am going to have a hard time transitioning back to live in the U.S and perhaps I’ll even have reverse culture shock and realize that Japan is where I want to live forever. Who knows? I sure don’t.

Well! Sorry this was just a rambling post with no point. I have to get back into the practice of writing things that make sense to the people reading it. If you are reading this and have been following my blog this whole time I just want to say thank you for caring about what’s going on with me. I hope to have more interesting experiences to share with you in the near future!

Take care!

❤ Kira

4 thoughts on “Life Update!!! 2 months left in Japan :-(

  1. jeulin says:

    I have yet to take any of the JLPT tests and don’t think I will take N2 this year mostly because too stressful lol. I too am thinking whether or not I want to work in Japan, but I’m hoping to do business instead of teaching. I think there are lots of opportunities to teach in Japan now, but yeah there is some competition. I’m from CA but I know from at least a lot of my Japanese-American friends in Hawaii, there are certain companies you can be in that are bilingual offices because they cater to Japanese clientele if that’s something you are interested in. I will probably just end up working in the US because I don’t think my Japanese is good enough for me to be happy there yet but I’ve also thought of the fact that it might be a waste if I lose it all here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

